The history of PALM Breweries dates back to 1747 and Anne Cornet who built a small Brabant-style top-fermentation village brewery opposite the church at Steenhuffel and called it Brouwerij De Hoorn.
1686 Inn with in-house brewery Theodoor Cornet, steward for the Counts of Steenhuffel at Diepensteyn Castle, owned an inn in the village, directly opposite the church, with a farm and its own brewery, called De Hoorn.
1747 Village brewery in Steenhuffel First documented proof of brewing activity in Steenhuffel. A census of that time lists all commercial activity among which are two pubs 'the Old Crown' 'The Horseshoe' and 'The Three Kings' as well as two Breweries: 'De Hoorn' and 'De Valk' (The Falcon)'. With the Horn, owned by Jean-Baptiste De Mesmaecker, the foundation is laid for what will later become PALM, the largest brewery of specialty beer in Belgium and Holland.
1801 Jan Baptist De Mesmaecker buys the De Hoorn brewery Jan Baptist De Mesmaecker buys the De Hoorn brewery. The deed mentions "a brewery with a malt factory, brandy distillery, inn and farm with stables".
1908 Henriette De Mesmaecker marries Arthur Van Roy. Henriette De Mesmaecker, great granddaughter- of Jan Baptist De Mesmaecker, marries Arthur Van Roy, a descendant in straight line of the Van Rhodes (note orthographic evolution: Van Roije-Van Roy) a miller family working at the Diepensteyn Castle in 1625 . We find their offspring a couple of generations later working as brewers in the village of Wieze. Arthur Van Roy, a visionary man, shall give new stimuli to beer production. Despite the rising popularity of pilsner style lager beer, he keeps believing in his traditional top fermenting beer. By giving priority to the continuity and singularity of this regional beer over the easy success of lager, he refuses to go mainstream.
1917 The brewery is totally destroyed De Hoorn is not spared in World War I. The Brewery is totally destroyed and needs rebuilding from scratch. Convinced that his beer stands a chance beyond the Steenhuffel village borders, Van Roy does so but on a much larger scale than before.
1928 Alfred Van Roy learns how to brew beer from his father Son Alfred Van Roy learns from his fathers the secrets of successful brewing. His beer is lush, gentle, not heavy but full of flavour and rich in aromas. He attends the brewery school in Brussels to further his technical skills in the field.
1929 Arthur Van Roy gives "Steenhuffel beer" the brand name: "PALM Speciale" Arthur Van Roy renames what is until then known as 'Steenhuffel Brew'. 'Speciale PALM', refers to a type of beer known as 'Speciale Belge' and to the palm leaf crown, symbolising the victory of top fermented beer over the growingly popular lager beers.
1935 The first copper brewing room with mill is built. The first copper Brew- and milling house is installed.
1940-1945 World War II Alfred Van Roy marries Marguerite d'Hollander, daughter of a brewing family from Moerzeke.
1972 Alfred Van Roy builds a 2nd copper brewing room The brewery has a second brew house installed.
1974 Family continuity is ensured by nephew Jan Toye. To assure family continuity, Jan Toye, nephew of Aline Verleyen and grandson of the aforementioned Roman family, is charged with the daily management of the Brewery. He therefore compliments his degree in construction engineering with postgraduate studies in brewing.
1975 Name change from "De Hoorn" brewery to "PALM" brewery Brewery De Hoorn, already commonly referred to as 'the company that brews PALM' simply changes its name to PALM. To accentuate the underlying local tradition, the Belgian draught horse is added to the logo. 1980 Jan Toye marries Carine Van Goethem Jan Toye weds Carine Van Goethem who is both through her father (the Van Goethem Brewery in Steendorp Temse) and her mother (daughter of the Van Steenberge Brewers in Ertvelde) of genuine brewers stock.
1998 Takeover of Brouwerij Rodenbach, new cultural project for Brouwerij Palm PALM takes over RODENBACH, the world's best known 'mixed fermentation' brewery. Modern publicity takes care of a new image. Their old complex is totally revamped around its prime feature: the lager halls with over 300 giant-sized oak barrels. As the crown on the renovation works a museum showcasing this legendary beer and its unique founder family RODENBACH opens in 2001.
2001 Brouwerij De Gouden Boom in Bruges Brouwerij Palm acquired the historic De Gouden Boom brewery in Bruges, famous for its Bruges City Beers and Steenbrugge Abbey Beers, all top-fermented and enriched with the Bruges blend of herbs known as "Gruut". Branching out again into another unique range of authentic thoroughbred beers.
Euroopa tipp spetsiaal-ale